Dandy Brown and Dawn Rich

Steve “Dandy” Brown is a producer, singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist best known for his work with the bands Hermano, Orquesta del Desierto, John Garcia, Alice Tambourine Lover, his solo releases, and his new collaboration the FIZZ FUZZ, with artist Dawn Rich.   

Born in Hamilton, Ohio, and currently residing in Santa Rosa, California, Brown first cut his teeth writing and performing with Greg Dulli (Afghan Whigs) in their seminal 1980’s midwestern rock band, The Black Republicans.  From there, he continued to write, perform and session in the greater Cincinnati area with a variety of musicians focusing upon a wide spectrum of musical genres.  Using that experience, he opened Suretone Recording Studio in Clifton, Ohio, where he produced and engineered the albums of dozens upon dozens of regional artists throughout the 1990’s.   By the end of the decade, Brown produced and wrote the majority of music for the first Hermano album, Only a Suggestion.  With the release of the first Hermano album, he pulled up his midwestern roots and moved to the desert of southern California where he formed and produced Orquesta del Desierto.   Continuing dual duties in both Hermano and Orquesta del Desierto, he spent the first decade of the 21st century touring and producing albums with both groups.  

Continuing to produce and record, the first DB solo album was released on Taxi Driver Records (Italy) in the spring of 2018.  During this time, Brown began to collaborate with Dawn Rich.  A multi-media artist, guitarist and vocalist, Rich honed her skills in the Mojave desert, and is widely recognized as a member of the new wave of groundbreaking visual artists in the northern California bay area.

Relocating to northern California, Rich and Brown immediately began to write a new collection of songs that they debuted during their first European tour.  Recording and performing throughout 2018 and 2019, Dandy Brown & Dawn Rich formed the FIZZ FUZZ and have a new album that is set for release on Taxi Driver Records (Europe) and Slush Fund Records (Worldwide) in the spring of 2020. 
Formed by producer Dandy Brown in 1998, the original lineup consisted of vocalist John Garcia (Kyuss, Unida, Slo Burn), bassist Dandy Brown, drummer Steve Earle (Afghan Whigs) and guitarists Mike Callahan (Earshot) and David Angstrom (Black Cat Bone, Supafuzz). After passing tapes and CDs amongst each other for six months, the band members entered the studio in early 1999 to begin recording their debut album. The record was completed in the early 2000; however, it was another two years before it was released, due to an assortment of contractual obligations.
The band released Only a Suggestion in 2002. The release was followed by touring in North America and Europe. During this period, drummer Steve Earle was replaced by Supafuzz drummer Chris Leathers; Leathers joined the band for the first time at the Azkena Festival in Spain in 2003.
Hermano signed to Dutch label Suburban Records and released Dare I Say in 2005.
In 2005 they released Live at W2, a live CD from their Angry American tour.  It was followed by a DVD of the show in 2006.
Hermano released their third and final album Into the Exam Room in late 2007, and followed the release with multiple tours throughout Europe.
Orquesta del Desierto is an American desert rock band from the Palm Desert, California. Founded upon music inspired and written by producer Dandy Brown (Hermano), members of the band include or have included vocalist Pete Stahl (Scream, Goatsnake, Wool), drummer Alfredo Hernández (Kyuss, Queens of the Stone Age, Ché), guitarist Mario Lalli (Fatso Jetson, Yawning Man) and guitarists Mike Riley and Country Mark Engel, Brian Brown,  Landerra Sean Carrillo, Pete Davidson, Adam Maples, Bill Barret, Jackie Watson, Emilliano Hernandez and Tim Jones. The band released two albums to date: an eponymous debut in 2002 and a follow up in 2003, appropriately titled "Dos".

The band dissolved in 2006 as members moved on to pursue other projects.
NOW AVAILABLE: remix/remaster of Orquesta del Desierto dos on vinyl at http://www.spinonblack.com/artista/orquesta-del-desierto/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Orquesta-del-Desierto/163610563680448